The Casagrandes Movie

Last year I supervised animation on the Casagrandes Movie. With a limited budget, we upped the quality while respecting the show’s animation style. In this shot the characters simply stand in the boat with determined expressions, on a mission. But the animators didn’t have enough movement on the boat, and the characters stood too still. The scene needed more action.

Using all the elements as flat layers, I gave the boat a figure-eight up and down movement, and placed the characters behind it, treating them like paper cut-outs, opposing their movements to the boat’s. Then I added overlapping action on their hair and clothing. I drew the screen right character’s hand on the same level as the motor steering lever, and gave it some up and down movement separate from her body. Essentially, I was mimicking full animation with limited expense.

I would love to know what you think...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.